AVASW Hall Of Fame   HOFHome

We Welcome Your

Disclaimer: This website is not sponsored by, endorsed by, or officially affiliated with the Department of Veterans Affairs. The contents of this website are the sole responsibility of AVASW. 



Jerry L. Satterwhite AVASW Hall of Fame


Jill E. Manske

JillManskeJill Manske was the Director of Social Work Service in the Department of Veterans Affairs Central Office from 2000 to 2007. During that time the number of VA social workers more than doubled. Social Work became a major player within the Department mainly due to Jill’s competence and willingness to become involved in major initiatives.

She was a founding member of the VA’s Faith-Based & Community Initiative Task Force; worked closely with the Fisher House Foundation to create the VA Fisher House Program; was instrumental in the development of VA Seamless Transition Program; chaired the VA Mental Health Veteran and Family-Centered Care Work Group; and placed VA social workers in major military hospitals.

Jill received many honors and awards, too many to list here. However it should be mentioned she is the only VA social worker to receive both the Ida M. Cannon Lifetime Achievement Award (Society for Social Work Leadership in Health Care) and the National Association of Social Worker’s Social Worker of the Year Award.
Recognizing the importance of succession planning, Jill began a mentoring program for social workers; developed the VHA Social Work Succession & Workforce Development Plan; and helped create a new VA training program for chiefs of medicine, nursing, rehabilitation, psychiatry, dietetics, chaplaincy and social work.

Despite the above accomplishments and many others, Jill will be remembered by most of us as one who truly cared for veterans and the quality of their healthcare. She cared about VA social workers and the profession and left the health care landscape a better place.









©2018 AVASW. All rights reserved.